Q. I was issued a traffic ticket but lost the ticket
or the envelope. Can I pay the fine directly to the police
department or to the local court house?
A. No. All traffic ticket fines are to be paid
directly to the Violations Bureau. To contact them for
more information about paying a ticket or receiving a
court date for a contested ticket, please call: 207-783-5422.
If you lost your envelope, mail the response or fine to:
Violations Bureau, P.O. Box 480, Lewiston, ME 04243-0480.
Traffic tickets can also be paid via credit card at the
following two sources: http://www.paytixx.com
or over the phone at
check this link for more information about Traffic Court
and the Traffic Violations FAQ.
Q. Is it illegal to smoke in a vehicle with a
child in it?
A. Yes. Effective September 1, 2008 the State of
Maine has enacted a law that prohibits smoking in vehicles
where a passenger under 16 years of age is present. Warnings
must be given until August 31, 2009. It is a $50.00 traffic
violation beginning September 1, 2009. This would count
as a non-moving violation on your license if convicted.
Q. My vehicle was towed by the police; where do I pick
A. Contact us and we will give you the name and number
to the wrecker service who towed it.
Q. How do I obtain a copy of a Police Report?
A. For accident reports, for your convenience call
before you come in and ask if the report has been completed
and approved. Once the accident report is approved it can
be released. There is a $10 fee for the report.
For a criminal or other type of report, you need to fill
out a Request for Information form.
Information is within that link about what can and can not
Q. I need to have fingerprints taken; can you help me
A. Yes, just come to the police station and make
sure you have proper identification, such as a Maine Drivers
License, and the fingerprint cards supplied by the organization
requesting the prints. Effective October 1, 2008 there will
be a $5 charge per person for fingerprinting.
Q. I have locked my keys in my vehicle; can the Police
Department assist me?
A. In most circumstances, no. Unless it is an emergency,
such as a child or animal locked in the vehicle. In that
circumstance we would dispatch a Fire Department unit to
unlock the vehicle, and they charge a $30 fee. In all other
incidents, we would assist you in finding a locksmith.
Q. How do I obtain a Protection Order?
Protection Orders can be obtained through Houlton District Court
located at 26 Court St. in Houlton, Monday - Friday, 8 am to 4 pm.
The phone number for the courthouse is 207-532-6564.
Q. When should I use "911"?
A. 911 is an emergency line which should be used
in life-threatening or urgent situations which require the
immediate presence of law enforcement, medical or fire personnel.
For all other situations, please call the non emergency
number at 532-2287.
Q. I was told my complaint was "civil" and
I would have to handle it through Small Claims Court. How
do I get more information about that process?
A. Visit the State of Maine's website and review
Guide to Small Claims Court"